Tags

, , , , ,

‘I fell hard when I was dropped. It didn’t make any sense. There I was, so suddenly. They didn’t know what was happening at all, and still, they knew more than me. They weren’t trying to help me. They weren’t giving me any explanation. Here or there they would say something that would become a clue for me, but they didn’t say it for that reason. They didn’t even care that I was there. I wonder if they even knew. Then it hit me. How did I get there. Who dropped me? And why? I’m not hurt, but I was dropped, though. Wasn’t I? Crazy, foolish, mad. Dazed and confused and probably lost. Unaware of where I’m lost from. Am I even lost? Who dropped me? Who lost me? Panic. I panic with these thoughts, but my only instinct is to go on. Follow these strangers as they walk along a path they seem to know very well. I am as with them as I am not. But I’ll carry on. Because although I was dropped, I can’t put this book down.’

On reading a book that starts in the middle of things- In medias res.

It’s one of my favorite ways to write because it’s my favorite way to read. I used to have this obsession where before buying/ borrowing/ reading any new book, I’d read the very last sentence first. It was something about the last sentence and how important it is to the story. It could be a very boring book, but if I read the last sentence first, I feel some sense of desperation to find out what that sentence means. As I grew up, I thought maybe this meant I should read more mysteries or thrillers. But you needed a parents permission to borrow the “Goosebumps” books from my elementary school library, and even at 9 there was something about that that made me want to protest reading them altogether. Thats another story though- I eventually read quite a few of them and they’re lovely books. But I’m just not that into mysteries. I love CSI and figuring out puzzles and all, but not as much as I love delving into a petticoat with Jane Austen. Not to say that Mansfield or Bronte or Austen didn’t ever fall into a mysterious category, but any book becomes a mystery as long as you read it that way. I think I like doing this more so now because I am trying to learn from my favorite authors, and so I try to guess what will happen next as I read to train my mind to be a step ahead of myself in my writing. I’ve had a lot of suggestions against my last-sentence-habit, but I can’t say I’ve listened. It’s just how I read. And I’d be lying if I said I’ve never written a story backwards before. It’s just how I write. starting at the end, and ending in the middle!

